Library: Individual Support: Medical terminology

Contact us

Library Phone: (03) 5434 1516

Keywords and shelf locations

Click on the keyword to search the catalogue or go directly to the shelves.

Medical Terminology	610.14
Medical Dictionary	610.3; 610.4; 615.103
Medical Language	610.14

Quick search - Bendigo TAFE Library

Enter an author, title or keyword above and click on Search to find what you are looking for in the library collection.
To renew or reserve items please contact the library by phone or email, or visit the library in person. These services are also available online. Contact the library for details.

To access our extensive ebook collection, click on the link below. Off-campus you will be asked to login with your Student ID and Password.

Ebook Central

Please use this link to access the database:

EBSCOHost Journal & Newspaper articles

Off-campus, you will need your Student ID and Password.

Access millions of journal and newspaper articles. If off-campus, you will need your Student ID and Password.

Books in the Library

An Introduction to Medical Terminology for Health Care

Designed to introduce medical terms to readers who have little or no prior knowledge of the language of medicine.

Mastering medical terminology : Australia and New Zealand

Featuring entirely Australian spelling and pronunciation. Will help you learn how to break down words into their component parts and memorise the meanings of these parts.

Includes practical application and includes the new features of: Case studies, pronunciation for anatomical tems; and narrative sections using medical terms in context.

Presenting terms in the context of body systems, this book helps you begin reading, writing, and speaking medical terms in the shortest time possible.

Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing & health professions : Australian and New Zealand edition

Delivers more than 1,100 new and revised definitions, more than 50 new drug entries, and a total of 74 new and updated tables for key reference information to complement definitions.

Contains 12,500 authoritative entries on all aspects of medical science. Entries are accessible and jargon-free and are complemented by over 140 illustrations and diagrams.

A convenient reference that is designed with skin care, plastic surgery and dermatology in mind. It provides clear and concise definitions to terminology that are used every day.

eBooks in the Library

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary 23e

The Amazing Language of Medicine : Understanding Medical Terms and Their Backstories

Useful websites

Introduction to Medical Terminology e-Learning, Royal Flying Doctor Service An interactive training module for non-clinical staff that covers a wide range of common medical terminology. The module takes around 30 minutes to complete.
Introduction to Medical Terminology : College of Biological Sciences : University of Minnesota
Word Building Reference : Global RPH This is a great reference to help strengthen your understanding of medical terminology. See how common medical terms are created using the various prefixes, suffixes, and root words.
Anthea Cayetano (2015) Medical Terminology, Documentation, Case Cards & Handovers Lecture notes : Flinders University Lecture Objectives • Introduction to medical terminology • Paramedic documentation / case cards • ISBAR
Common Medical Abbreviations and Acronyms List : MedicineNet.com Medical abbreviations: What do they mean? Have you ever wondered why you can't read the doctor's note or the letters and numbers on a prescription? Health care professionals often quickly scribble notes with important medical information that they would like a patient to reference in regard to the type of current, or recently diagnosed disease, syndrome, or other health condition(s). Have you ever see the doctor's notes in your medical record and found peculiar abbreviations and jargon? Do you wonder what the letters and numbers mean on your prescriptions or other items related to a disease, syndrome, or disorder? Doctors and other health care professionals commonly use a list of abbreviations, acronyms, and other medical terminology as a reference to rapidly search and accurately record information about, and give instructions to their patients. There is no standard or approved list used by health care professionals to search for medical acronyms or abbreviations. Therefore, it is important to understand the context in which the abbreviation or term has been used. Abbreviations, acronyms, and medical terminology are used for many conditions, and for instructions on medication prescribed by your doctor. This is a short list of common abbreviations you may have seen on a doctor's notepad; a prescription drug package or bottle; lab or other test results; or in your doctor's notes.

Online EBSCOhost journal articles

Chen, X., Xie, H., Wang, F. L., Et al (2018). A bibliometric analysis of natural language processing in medical research. BMC Medical Informatics & Decision Making, 18 (Suppl) 14 pages Background: Natural language processing (NLP) has become an increasingly significant role in advancing medicine. Rich research achievements of NLP methods and applications for medical information processing are available. It is of great significance to conduct a deep analysis to understand the recent development of NLP-empowered medical research field. However, limited study examining the research status of this field could be found. Therefore, this study aims to quantitatively assess the academic output of NLP in medical research field. Methods: We conducted a bibliometric analysis on NLP-empowered medical research publications retrieved from PubMed in the period 2007-2016. The analysis focused on three aspects. Firstly, the literature distribution characteristics were obtained with a statistics analysis method. Secondly, a network analysis method was used to reveal scientific collaboration relations. Finally, thematic discovery and evolution was reflected using an affinity propagation clustering method. Results: There were 1405 NLP-empowered medical research publications published during the 10 years with an average annual growth rate of 18.39%. 10 most productive publication sources together contributed more than 50% of the total publications. The USA had the highest number of publications. A moderately significant correlation between country's publications and GDP per capita was revealed. Denny, Joshua C was the most productive author. Mayo Clinic was the most productive affiliation. The annual co-affiliation and co-country rates reached 64.04% and 15.79% in 2016, respectively. 10 main great thematic areas were identified including Computational biology, Terminology mining, Information extraction, Text classification, Social medium as data source, Information retrieval, etc. CONCLUSIONS: A bibliometric analysis of NLP-empowered medical research publications for uncovering the recent research status is presented. The results can assist relevant researchers, especially newcomers in understanding the research development systematically, seeking scientific cooperation partners, optimizing research topic choices and monitoring new scientific or technological activities.
Chia Chen Chou, A., & Pin Yu, C. (2017). Evaluating Student-Led Medical Foreign Language Courses: A Preliminary Study. Education In Medicine Journal, 9(1), 81-86. Objective: Language barriers between physicians and patients are linked to poorer clinical outcomes, higher healthcare costs, and worse patient satisfaction. Incorporating medical foreign language into medical school curriculums can be costly and time-consuming. We sought to evaluate the efficacy of a student-initiated medical foreign language course in communicating with patients with limited English proficiency (LEP). Methods: Senior medical students designed the curriculum and textbook for a medical foreign language course aimed at teaching basic medical Mandarin Chinese, Hokkien Chinese and Malay. After the course, students completed questionnaire on their comfort engaging in patients with LEP and whether they would take a second course. Results: A total of 38 students enrolled and 22 completed the post-course questionnaire. Students felt significantly more comfortable engaging patients with LEP (p < 0.05). All students agreed the course was effective at teaching medical foreign language and the majority would take a second LINGO course in the future. Conclusion: Studentled medical foreign languages classes may be effective in helping medical students communicate with patients with LEP.
Fage ‐ Butler, A. M., & Nisbeth Jensen, M. (2016). Medical terminology in online patient-patient communication: evidence of high health literacy?. Health Expectations, 19(3), 643-653 Background: Health communication research and guidelines often recommend that medical terminology be avoided when communicating with patients due to their limited understanding of medical terms. However, growing numbers of e ‐ patients use the Internet to equip themselves with specialized biomedical knowledge that is couched in medical terms, which they then share on participatory media, such as online patient forums. Objective: Given possible discrepancies between preconceptions about the kind of language that patients can understand and the terms they may actually know and use, the purpose of this paper was to investigate medical terminology used by patients in online patient forums. Design: Using data from online patient–patient communication where patients communicate with each other without expert moderation or intervention, we coded two data samples from two online patient forums dedicated to thyroid issues. Results: Previous definitions of medical terms (dichotomized into technical and semi ‐ technical) proved too rudimentary to encapsulate the types of medical terms the patients used. Therefore, using an inductive approach, we developed an analytical framework consisting of five categories of medical terms: dictionary ‐ defined medical terms, co ‐ text ‐ defined medical terms, medical initialisms, medication brand names and colloquial technical terms. The patients in our data set used many medical terms from all of these categories. Discussion and conclusions: Our findings suggest the value of a situated, condition ‐ specific approach to health literacy that recognizes the vertical kind of knowledge that patients with chronic diseases may have. We make cautious recommendations for clinical practice, arguing for an adaptive approach to medical terminology use with patients.
Ya-Huei, W., Pan-Fu, K., & Hung-Chang, L. (2016). The Relationship of Vocabulary Learning Strategies and Self-Efficacy with Medical English and Terminology. Perceptual & Motor Skills, 122(1), 47-66. This study examined the relationship between the use of vocabulary learning strategies and self-efficacy in medical English learning, and whether after an initial six-week course to master the basics of medical terminology, those with higher use of vocabulary learning strategies and those with a higher degree of self-efficacy would have significant score improvements in the medical English proficiency. Second-year medical students (N = 115; M age = 19.6, SD = 0.5; 82 men, 33 women) participated in the study. A one-group pretest-posttest design was used. Measures included medical English tests, the English Vocabulary Learning Strategies Survey (EVLSS), and the English Learning Self-Efficacy Scale (ELSES). Results showed that there was no significant correlation between vocabulary learning strategies and English learning self-efficacy. In addition, as a whole, vocabulary learning strategies and self-efficacy significantly predicted students' score improvements in medical English proficiency.
Martin, J. S., Kreiger, J. E., & Apicerno, A. L. (2015). Effectiveness of a Hybrid Classroom in the Delivery of Medical Terminology Course Content. Journal Of The Scholarship Of Teaching & Learning, 15(5), 72-81. Hybrid courses are emerging as a viable option for content delivery across college campuses. In an attempt to maximize learning outcomes while leveraging resources, one institution used several sections of a Medical Terminology course as a pilot. Traditional and hybrid course delivery were compared utilizing a quantitative research method to evaluate the effectiveness of a hybrid course design in meeting and/or exceeding course objectives, as determined by student satisfaction and perceptions. Both hybrid and traditional class groups agreed that Medical Terminology has potential to be delivered in a hybrid format, but the hybrid group's agreement was significant stronger (+0.38 points on 5- point scale, P=0.008).