Search our eBook catalogue for Allied Health to see our range of eBooks. You will be prompted to log in with your Student ID and Password.
Selected titles:
An Occupational Therapist's Guide to Home Modification Practice by
Older people and people with a disability have a right to be included in all aspects of home and community life, and yet, environmental barriers continue to exist in the built environment. There are concerns about how well homes can support older people and people with a disability over time as their needs change. Occupational therapists are well suited to determining the most appropriate home modification solutions to address environmental barriers. They possess the knowledge and skills necessary to evaluate people's current and future needs in the context of the nature and use of the environment and can work collaboratively with design and construction professionals to develop solutions. To be comprehensive and effective in their approach, occupational therapists need to understand not only the individual's requirements, but also, the ethical and legal contexts for practice, the technical aspects of the built environment, the relevance and intent of access standards and design approaches, and the application of a range of products and finishes. An Occupational Therapist's Guide to Home Modification Practice, Second Edition by Elizabeth Ainsworth and Desleigh de Jonge and their team of expert contributors provides comprehensive information to inform occupational therapists about current practice and research. This includes the authors using a transactional approach to examine the person-occupation-environment interaction and providing occupational therapists with a detailed understanding of the various dimensions of the home environment that can impact on client's home modification decisions. New material has been provided relating to research and practice issues, such as an overview of the latest home modification outcome research findings as documented in literature; an update on outcome evaluation; new research information about the dimensions of the home impacting on decision making; additional information grabrail and ramp prescription; and the inclusion of new case studies illustrating minor and major modification solutions for clients who present with diverse needs. In the Second Edition you'll find: A detailed understanding of aspects of the home environment that impact home modification decisions A review of legislative environment and funding systems that facilitate service delivery An overview of home modification services, as well as future trends A range of comprehensive case studies -- illustrated by photographs Additional theory to inform knowledge, and skill development, that can be used in home modification practice worldwide Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional education material to be used for teaching in the classroom. An Occupational Therapist's Guide to Home Modification Practice, Second Edition provides a range of resources and tools, and it can be used as a teaching aid to support students, interns, and novice therapists or as a manual for reflection and practice for more experienced home modification practitioners.
Occupational Therapy and Older People by
This book locates older people as major clients of occupational therapy services. It provides a comprehensive resource for students and a basic working reference for clinicians. The book encompasses current theories, debates and challenges which occupational therapists need to engage in if they are to provide pro-active and promotional approaches to ageing. Detailed coverage of bodily structures, functions and pathologies leads onto chapters dedicated to activity, occupation and participation. The ethos of the book is to inspire innovation in the practice of occupational therapy with older people, promoting successful ageing that entails control and empowerment. This new edition has been fully revised and updated. In addition brand new material has been included on occupational transitions (retirement, frailty and end of life); user perspectives; public health including advocacy, enablement and empowerment; people entering old age with disability and mental health conditions; visual impairment; assistive technology driving and ageism.
Compassionate Mindful Inquiry in Therapeutic Practice by
Practical and informative, this hands-on manual clearly depicts the relationship between mindfulness and compassion, demonstrating how one supports the other. The book offers a fresh perspective on mindfulness that resonates with a human approach and helps practitioners to validate their work by giving a sense of grounding and direction, and providing a safe, appropriate and transformative process in which to conduct inquiry. Including chapters on the meaning of Compassionate Mindful Inquiry and the Model of Inquiry, Atkinson facilitates transformational change and offers guidance for those incorporating mindfulness teaching into their own professional practice.
Search our catalogue for Allied Health to see our broad range of books.
Selected titles:
Group and Individual Work with Older People by
Being active is fundamental to a person's sense of physical and mental wellbeing, and the need to engage in purposeful and meaningful activity does not diminish with age. However, common effects of ageing, such as reduced vision and hearing, arthritis, dementia, and in some cases social isolation, can affect an older person's ability to participate in therapeutic and recreational activities. Introducing the concept of PIE (Planning, Implementation and Evaluation), this practical resource will enable professionals working with older people to initiate and run successful activity-based programmes with their clients, either individually or in groups. The authors guide the reader through the processes of group and individual work, and provide step-by-step instructions for a range of activities, including arts and crafts, music, drama, movement, relaxation, reminiscence, and day-to-day tasks such as taking care of personal hygiene and preparing food and drinks. The book also describes the importance of assessing and evaluating activity-based work, with examples of completed evaluation and assessment forms. Useful case studies and self-reflective activities for the facilitator are included throughout. This book will be an invaluable for occupational therapists, creative arts therapists, health and social care practitioners and all other professionals working with older people.
Introduction to Occupational Therapy by
Prepare for success in OT practice with a complete overview of the profession! Introduction to Occupational Therapy, 5th Edition helps you master the roles and responsibilities of the OT practitioner. Content promotes evidence-based OT practice, from client evaluation to planning interventions and goals to reaching optimal outcomes. You'll also learn valuable skills in clinical reasoning and in providing occupational therapy across the client's entire lifespan. Written by experienced educator and author Jane Clifford O'Brien, this comprehensive resource discusses today's OT treatment settings and adds a new chapter on cultural competence. Complete coverage of OT practice prepares you for care in areas such as adult, pediatric, geriatric, and mental health. A broad perspective fits the needs of both Occupational Therapy and Occupational Therapy Assistant students. Case studies and activities in each chapter help you apply concepts and develop problem-solving skills. Emphasis on evidence-based practice helps you learn to think logically and use research literature to formulate diagnoses and treatment plans. The OT Practice Framework provides a sound basis for decision making, defining occupational therapy areas of concern and the OT process. Chapter objectives, key terms, chapter summaries, and review questions highlight important content in each chapter. Student resources on the Evolve companion website include review questions with answers along with crossword puzzles to reinforce what you've learned in the book. NEW content on OT theory and practice includes the latest updates to the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework and OT Code of Ethics. New coverage of the role of certified Occupational Therapy Assistants shows where OTAs are employed, what licensure requirements they must meet, and how they fit into the scope of OT practice. NEW chapter on cultural competence provides the tools you need to work with culturally diverse clients in today's healthcare environment, and includes case studies with examples of cultural competence and its impact on the practice of OT. NEW Centennial Vision commentary provides a 'big picture' view of today's occupational therapy, and shows how OT is becoming a powerful, widely recognized, science-driven, and evidence-based profession as it reaches the age of 100.
Mental health care : an introduction for health professionals by
Mental Health Care: An introduction for Health Professionals is written for students who will be future health professionals working in allied health and medical environments. Set firmly within a wellness framework the text is also useful for health professionals, already working in a health-related field, who need information to support them to assist people who are experiencing a mental health problem. The text offers a user-friendly blend of theory and practice that will enable students to think carefully about the issues involved in mental health care and help to develop strategies for working effectively with people across the lifespan and form diverse cultures.
