The Human Body in Health and Illness by Barbara HerlihyLearn the A&P you'll really use in practice! The Human Body in Health and Illness, 6th Edition uses hundreds of illustrations, colorful cartoons, and an easy-to-read approach to simplify Anatomy & Physiology concepts. Organized by body system, this resource shows how each organ is designed to work by including clear, step-by-step explanations, clinical examples, and online animations. It also demonstrates what happens to the body when a system does not function properly. Written by well-known author and educator Barbara Herlihy, this resource makes it easier and more fun to learn A&P concepts - and gives you the basic background you need to begin a healthcare career. Full-color illustrations simplify difficult concepts and complex processes, accurately depicting anatomy, physiology, and disease. Colorful cartoons use humor to clarify and reinforce the content, making it more memorable, accessible, and easy to understand. Interesting analogies, examples, and anecdotes make learning easier and bring science to life. Key terms and objectives begin every chapter, setting learning expectations and goals, with terms defined in a comprehensive glossary. Useful learning and review features include Re-Think questions, Ramp It Up! and As You Age boxes, plus Did You Know boxes with clinical scenarios and historical vignettes. Focus on medical terminology includes Medical Terminology and Disorders tables with pronunciations, derivations, and word parts, along with references to commonly used medical terminology. Evolve companion website enhances your understanding with animations, learning activities, and review tools. A study guide offers fun and practical exercises to help you review, understand, and remember basic A&P. Sold separately. New animations bring difficult concepts to life. New illustrations show more step-by-step processes, and include new review questions to help you understand the concepts depicted. UPDATED content includes additional chapter review questions. NEW! More pronunciations and new med term activities are included.
Mental Health in Australia by Graham Meadows; Ellie Fossey; John Farhall; Margaret Grigg; Fiona McDermott; Bruce SinghMental Health in Australia: Collaborative Community Practice, third edition, is a comprehensive cross-disciplinary resource on mental health for both students and professionals. It covers a breadth of topics, from the delivery of mental health care and mental health services in Australia, to assessment skills, case management and the various mental health disorders. The book explores various perspectives, views and approaches, with greater emphasis on the role of collaboration, recovery and the consumer perspective in mental health care. The new edition is divided into four parts: the context, clinical practice principles, disorders considered in the context of the lifespan, and disorders commonly presenting in adult life. It includes new chapters on psychopharmacology; psychological therapies; supporting recovery and living well; and eating disorders.
Local Government Planning for Health and WellbeingEach council’s approach and strategy is documented in their Municipal Public Health and Wellbeing Plan (MPHWP). The MPHWP sets the broad mission, goals and priorities to enable people living in the municipality to achieve maximum health and wellbeing.
In preparing a health and wellbeing plan, the Public Health and Wellbeing Act 2008 requires council MPHWPs to be consistent with the corporate plan of the council and the council land use plan required by the Municipal Strategic Statement (MSS).
Achieving strategic alignment is critical to achieving health and wellbeing outcomes in local communities. Other local plans of community partners with an interest in local public health should sit alongside the MPHWP.
MPHWPs need to consider the directions and priorities of the Victorian Public Health and Wellbeing Plan 2015–2019. This is required under the Public Health and Wellbeing Act 2008.
Australia's health 2016, Australian Government reportAustralia's welfare 2015 is the 12th biennial welfare report of the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare.This comprehensive report provides an authoritative overview of the wellbeing of Australians, examining a wide range of relevant topics. This edition combines analytical feature articles on a variety of contemporary welfare issues with short statistical snapshots following a life-course approach. It covers: Understanding welfare; Australia's welfare spending and workforce; Child wellbeing; Young people; Working age; Growing older; Diversity and disadvantage in Australia; Indicators of Australia's welfare.
About Overweight and Obesity, The Department of HealthSpecific information on overweight and obesity is provided, including: prevalence of overweight and obesity; how overweight and obesity is defined; calculate your BMI (for adults only); causes of overweight and obesity; health consequences; economic consequences.
Medicine and Health Care by Michael BurganScience, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) have never been more important. Just about every part of our lives is touched by one or more of those fields. In this book, check out many stories from the worlds of Medicine and Health Care, including these breaking headlines:Science: Finding Bacteria That Saves LivesTechnology: Doctors Use Virtual Reality to Peer Inside YouEngineering: Tiny Cameras Used in Brain SurgeryMath: Data Analysis Leads to Alzheimers BreakthroughsInside, find out the stories behind these headlines and many mores we explore how STEM topics are making an impact on doctors, nurses, diseases, and of course, patients. Each title in this series focuses on one important part of our world and provides multiple stories and insights on how STEM is having an impact. STEM skills are changing our world . . . every day. Keep up on the latest development sand find ways to challenge your own skills with STEM IN CURRENT EVENTS.The impact of the popular fields of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math are being felt throughout academia, as students turn more and more to STEM topics for study. However, those fields are having an even larger impact on the world around us, and that is what this series celebrates. Each book looks at a major area of news or current events and looks into how each part of STEM is making a difference. From around the country and around the world, the headlines call out "STEM Is the Story!" Each title in the STEM IN CURRENT EVENTS series includes color photos throughout, and back matter including an index and further reading lists for books and internet resources. Key Icons appear throughout the books in this series in an effort to encourage library readers to build knowledge, gain awareness, explore possibilities, and expand their viewpoints through our content rich nonfiction books. Key Icons in this series are: Words to Understand shown at the front of each chapter with definitions. These words are set in boldfaced color type in that chapter, so that readers are able to reference back to the definitions, building their vocabulary and enhancing their reading comprehension. Sidebars are highlighted graphics with content-rich material within that allows readers to build knowledge and broaden their perspectives by weaving together additional information to provide realistic and holistic perspectives. Text-Dependent Questions are placed at the end of each chapter referring back to subjects covered within. They challenge the readers comprehension of the material they have just read, while sending the reader back to the text for more careful attention to the evidence presented there. Research Projects are provided at the end of each chapter as well and give readers suggestions for projects that encourage deeper research and analysis. Educational Videos are offered in chapters through the use of a QR code, that, when scanned, takes the student to an online video showing a moment in history, a speech, or an instructional video. This gives the readers additional content to supplement the text. A Series Glossary of Key Terms is included in the back matter containing terminology used throughout the series. Words found here broaden the readers knowledge and understanding of terms used in this field.
Call Number: e-Book
Publication Date: 2016
Social Determinants of Indigenous Health by Bronwyn Carson; Terry Dunbar; Richard D. ChenhallThe opportunities and comfortable lifestyle available to most Australians have been denied to generations of Indigenous people. As a result some of Australia's original inhabitants suffer from what has been described as 'Fourth World' standards of health. This is out of place in a country that prides itself on egalitarianism and a fair go for all. Shifting the focus from individual behaviour, to the social and political circumstances that influence people's lives and ultimately their health, helps us to understand the origins of poor health. It can also guide action to bring about change. Social Determinants of Indigenous Health offers a systematic overview of the relationship between the social and political environment and health. Highly respected contributors from around Australia examine the long-term health impacts of the Indigenous experience of dispossession, colonial rule and racism. They also explore the role of factors such as poverty, class, community and social capital, education, employment and housing. They scrutinise the social dynamics of making policy for Indigenous Australians, and the interrelation between human rights and health. Finally, they outline a framework for effective health interventions, which take social factors into consideration. This is a groundbreaking work, developed in consultation with Indigenous health professionals and researchers. It is essential reading for anyone working in Indigenous health.