Search our catalogue for Medical terminology to see our broad range of books.
Selected titles:
An Introduction to Medical Terminology for Health Care by
A thorough knowledge of medical terminology is essential for all health care roles whether clinical or administrative in nature. The new edition of this attractive and easy to use self-directed learning manual provides a simple, interactive and comprehensive guide to the language of medicine. A self-directed learning package that requires no previous knowledge of medical terminology New design with icons to direct the reader and facilitate the learning process Case Histories help put the words into a 'real life' context Over 120 clear images enable students to associate medical terms with human anatomy and medical equipment Self-assessment modules allow readers to test their knowledge of the meaning of word components and their association with a disease, anatomical feature or medical specialty Simple, non-technical descriptions of pathological conditions, symptoms, laboratory tests, medical instruments and clinical procedures Numerous fill-in word exercises to ensure fast and effective learning Comprehensive abbreviation lists and a glossary A valuable resource for readers taking the City and Guilds (AMSPAR) exams or CMA (AAMA) exams in medical terminology Fresh design and updated artwork program gives added appeal to the volume Each unit contains a list of common associated words often used in conjunction with specific medical terms in patient records and medical publications More information on pathological conditions, laboratory tests and clinical procedures Self-assessment exercises on medical specialties Revised lists of common abbreviations associated with each speciality
Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing and health professions by
Features: Over 39000 clear, precise entries, plus encyclopaedic entries of significant terms - over 2000 high quality images and the apt use of tables to demonstrate and clarify - more than 30 medical and health specialities represented - a detailed colour atlas of anatomy, enhancing the comprehension of anatomical terms - local spelling conventions and phonetic pronunciation guides - fully revised etymologies - comprehensive entries for numerous drugs - appendices, including normal laboratory values for adults and children, units of measurement, nutrition guidelins, assessment guides, immunisation schedules, infection control and herb-drug interactions.
Quick and Easy Medical Terminology by
Make learning medical terminology faster and more fun with Quick & Easy Medical Terminology, 7th Edition! Presenting terms in the context of body systems, this book helps you begin reading, writing, and speaking medical terms in the shortest time possible. Small chunks of information are always followed immediately by exercises, so you will be learning every minute! This edition adds new illustrations and a new Special Senses chapter, and an Evolve companion website includes word games, activities, and audio pronunciations to make it easier to understand and remember terminology. Written in a clear, conversational style by Peggy C. Leonard, this resource gives you the tools to communicate effectively in the health care environment. The programmed learning approach presents content in small blocks called 'frames' that allow you to get immediate feedback on your progress. A flexible, body systems organization lets you go through the material in any order after completing the orientation chapters, making it easy to coordinate your study with other courses such as anatomy and physiology. A review of anatomy and physiology at the beginning of each body systems chapter provides a context for understanding tmedical terminology. Medical reports with review exercises are included in the book and on the Evolve companion website, allowing you to practice using terms in real-life situations. Quick Tips in the margins add essential information and interesting, fun facts. NEW! Special Senses chapter provides dedicated coverage of the eye and ear. NEW! Expanded mental health coverage includes the mental health terms you are most likely to encounter in clinical practice. NEW! Terms and definitions keep you up to date with advances in healthcare. NEW! Photos and drawings illustrate difficult terms and procedures, including the increased use of endoscopy in many specialties.
Medical Terminology by
Quickly master the basics of medical terminology and begin speaking and writing terms almost immediately! Using Davi-Ellen Chabner's proven learning methods, Medical Terminology: A Short Course, 6th Edition omits time-consuming, nonessential information and helps you build a working medical vocabulary of the most frequently encountered suffixes, prefixes, and word roots. Medical terms are introduced in the context of human anatomy and physiology to help you understand exactly what they mean, and case studies, vignettes, and activities demonstrate how medical terms are used in practice. With all this plus medical animations, word games, and flash cards on the companion Evolve website, you'll be amazed at how easily medical terminology becomes part of your vocabulary. Simple, clear, non-technical explanations demystify medical terminology even if you've had little or no background in medicine or science. Self-teaching text/workbook approach reinforces learning every step of the way with labeling diagrams, pronunciation tests, and review sheets throughout the book. Full-color images illustrate anatomical and pathological terms. UNIQUE Picture Show activities, practical case studies, and vignettes demonstrate real-life applications of medical terms. Spotlight feature identifies and clarifies potentially confusing terminology. Audio pronunciations and definitions help you pronounce terms correctly and commit their definitions to memory. Labeled illustrations in the Spanish glossary present Spanish terms used in the healthcare setting. A companion Evolve website includes word games, learning exercises, audio pronunciations, animations, an anatomy coloring book, electronic flash cards, and more. First Person vignettes provide personal narratives to help you understand diseases and conditions from a patient's perspective. Principal Diagnosis feature shows how medical terms are used in clinical practice by asking you to read physician notes about a case and determine the patient's principal diagnosis. Medical Terminology Check Up at the end of each chapter reinforces key concepts. New and updated medical information keeps you current with today's healthcare terminology and includes new and re-drawn illustrations.
Search our eBook catalogue for Medical terminology to see our range of eBooks. You will be prompted to log in with your Student ID and Password.
Selected titles:
Dictionary of Medical Terms by
Although written primarily as a home reference guide, Barron's Dictionary of Medical Terms has been valued, used, and highly praised by medical instructors, student nurses, and others in the healthcare professions. This expanded and updated edition clearly and concisely describes medical terms in language that the layman can understand. Thousands of terms and definitions cover-- Descriptions of diseases and their symptoms First-aid procedures Human anatomy and body parts Dentistry Medications and their applications Instructive tables covering important elements, vitamins, trade and generic names of commonly prescribed drugs, and much more Many terms are supplemented with instructive line illustrations. Readers are also guided by extensive cross references.
Quick Medical Terminology by
The new, updated edition of the classic medical terminology reference with over 200,000 copies sold Quick Medical Terminology has long been relied on by students and medical professionals looking to build or update their medical vocabulary. This new fifth edition provides the tools and information needed to understand the simple logic behind hundreds of seemingly incomprehensible words, along with fresh exercises and current examples. Features new review exercises and self-tests, more than 250 new terms, medical measurements, and up-to-date examples Provides the tools necessary for building and sustaining a large working repertoire of medical terms The reference of choice for health practitioners and others who need to expand, improve, or refresh their medical vocabularies Filled with essential information presented in a clear and easy-to-follow format, Quick Medical Terminology is an invaluable learning tool and reference source.