Automobile Electrical and Electronic Systems by Tom DentonThis textbook will help you learn all the skills you need to pass Level 3 Vehicle Electrical and Electronic Systems courses or related modules from City and Guilds, IMI Awards and BTEC. It is also ideal for ASE, AUR and higher level qualifications. As electrical and electronic systems become increasingly more complex and fundamental to the workings of modern vehicles, understanding these systems is essential for automotive technicians. For students new to the subject, this book will help to develop this knowledge, but will also assist experienced mechanics in keeping up with recent technological advances. This new edition includes information on developments in hybrid car technology, GPS, multiplexing, and electronic stability/vehicle dynamics control. In full colour and covering the latest course specifications, this is the guide that no student enrolled on an automotive maintenance and repair course should be without. Designed to make learning easier, this book contains: Photographs, flow charts, quick reference tables, overview descriptions and step-by-step instructions Case studies to help you put the principles covered into real-life context Useful margin features throughout, including definitions, key facts and 'safety first' considerations
Call Number: 629.2549 DEN
Publication Date: 2012
Hybrid Electric Vehicles by Chris Mi; M. Abul Masrur; David Wenzhong GaoModern Hybrid Electric Vehicles provides vital guidance to help a new generation of engineers master the principles of and further advance hybrid vehicle technology. The authors address purely electric, hybrid electric, plug-in hybrid electric, hybrid hydraulic, fuel cell, and off-road hybrid vehicle systems. They focus on the power and propulsion systems for these vehicles, including issues related to power and energy management. They concentrate on material that is not readily available in other hybrid electric vehicle (HEV) books such as design examples for hybrid vehicles, and cover new developments in the field including electronic CVT, plug-in hybrid, and new power converters and controls. Covers hybrid vs. pure electric, HEV system architecture (including plug-in and hydraulic), off-road and other industrial utility vehicles, non-ground-vehicle applications like ships, locomotives, aircrafts, system reliability, EMC, storage technologies, vehicular power and energy management, diagnostics and prognostics, and electromechanical vibration issues. Contains core fundamentals and principles of modern hybrid vehicles at component level and system level. Provides graduate students and field engineers with a text suitable for classroom teaching or self-study.
Call Number: 629.2293 MI
Publication Date: 2011
Hybrid, Electric, and Fuel-Cell Vehicles by Auth; Jack ErjavecHYBRID, ELECTRIC AND FUEL-CELL VEHICLES, Second Edition, covers the cutting-edge technology and technology that are revolutionizing today's automotive industry. Author Jack Erjavec combines in-depth industry expertise with an engaging, reader-friendly style, providing extensive detail on new and upcoming electric vehicles, including hybrids in production today and the fuel cell vehicles of tomorrow. Expansive coverage ranges from basic theory related to vehicle construction, electricity, batteries, and motors, to the political and social impact of these high-profile vehicles. In addition to up-to-date, highly accurate technical information on vehicles available today--including service procedures and safe shop practices--the text provides an informed look into the future with material on vehicles currently under development.
Call Number: 629.2293 ERJ
Publication Date: 2012
Hybrid and Alternative Fuels Vehicles by James D. Halderman; Tony MartinThis is the first and only book that covers hybrid vehicles in a practical way and is designed for the service technician or automotive student. Beginning with an explanation of the fundamentals, the book discusses historical trends and concerns for the environment, and then moves on to more detailed concepts of systems. It devotes separate chapters to each system and then highlights products from leading manufacturers, making the information easy to incorporate into an existing course. Special features are included that apply material to the service training field and photos and illustrations are ample throughout.
Off campus, you will be prompted to enter your Student ID and password to login.
Fundamentals of Automotive and Engine Technology by Konrad Reif (Editor)Hybrid drives and the operation of hybrid vehicles are characteristic of contemporary automotive technology. Together with the electronic driver assistant systems, hybrid technology is of the greatest importance and both cannot be ignored by today's car drivers. This technical reference book provides the reader with a firsthand comprehensive description of significant components of automotive technology. All texts are complemented by numerous detailed illustrations.
Publication Date: 2014
Bosch Automotive Electrics and Automotive Electronics by Robert Bosch GmbH (Editor) This is a complete reference guide to automotive electrics and electronics. This new edition of the definitive reference for automotive engineers, compiled by one of the world's largest automotive equipment suppliers, includes new and updated material. As in previous editions different topics are covered in a concise but descriptive way backed up by diagrams, graphs, photographs and tables enabling the reader to better comprehend the subject. This fifth edition revises the classical topics of the vehicle electrical systems such as system architecture, control, components and sensors. There is now greater detail on electronics and their application in the motor vehicle, including electrical energy management (EEM) and discusses the topic of inter system networking within the vehicle. It also includes a description of the concept of hybrid drive a topic that is particularly current due to its ability to reduce fuel consumption and therefore CO2 emissions.This book will benefit automotive engineers and design engineers, automotive technicians in training and mechanics and technicians in garages. It may also be of interest to teachers/ lecturers and students at vocational colleges, and enthusiasts.