The first botanical garden purely for Australian native plants
Books in the library
Fundamentals of Turfgrass Management by Nick Edward ChristiansNow revised & updated -- the essential book on turfgrass management!</P><p>The new edition of <i>Fundamentals of Turfgrass Management</i> introduces the principles of turfgrass management, covering everything from basic turfgrass science to fertilization, mowing, turfgrass diseases, irrigation topdressing, pest management, as well as career paths, and much more.</P><p>With an emphasis on explaining why certain management practices are handled as they are, this new edition:</P><ul><li> Incorporates updates throughout with special emphasis on pesticides, herbicides, insecticides, fungicides, and soil testing<li> Contains expanded coverage of physiology, water quality and seed production, seed certification, and seed buying<li> Offers step-by-step advice on the selection and maintenance of turfgrasses<li> Includes the latest information on cutting-edge fertilization research, mowing techniques, and sports field management practices<li> Features a full-color identification guide that covers the most common grasses and weeds</ul><p>Written on a level suitable for students, but with a wealth of information useful to experienced turfgrass managers, <i>Fundamentals of Turfgrass Management, Fourth Edition</i> provides a solid yet flexible grounding that readers can apply and adapt on the job to nearly any situation.</P>
Call Number: 635.9642 CHR
Publication Date: 2011
Growing Media for Ornamental Plants and Turf by Neil Black; Kevin HandreckFor more than 20 years this essential reference has been the bible for Australian students of horticulture--and for practicing horticulturists, groundskeepers, landscapers, and gardeners. With 42 new illustrations, this updated edition has been substantially revised to include the latest advances in horticultural production, with significant revisions to chapters on soil-borne diseases, fertilizers, nursery practices, turf irrigation, and drainage. Other additions to the book include plans for roof gardens, vertical gardens, and water-recycling projects.
Call Number: 635.914 HAN
Publication Date: 2010
Sustainable Gardens by Rob Cross; Roger Spencer* Presents information in a non-technical format * Synthesizes sustainability issues, information, language, facts and figures that are currently widely dispersed through a range of media and difficult to access * Provides a context to the many ways in which we can manage our parks and gardens in a way that contributes to sustainable living This book is designed to reduce the environmental impact of horticulture by providing horticulturists, both amateur and professional, with a resource for making informed decisions about how they design, construct and maintain their gardens and parks. Our gardens are a microcosm of nature; the ecological processes that go on in a garden mirror those operating on a global scale. The better we understand and quantify these cycles and processes, as they operate on both large and small scales, the more effective will be our management strategies. The book introduces the reader to the historical context of the global, national and local environmental issues that confront us and examines the idea of sustainable living as a means of addressing these issues. It draws attention to the new discipline of sustainability science with its emphasis on environmental accounting, and how this is being applied at the global, national, country, household and individual levels to establish benchmarks, set management goals, assess trends and measure progress towards sustainability. The contribution of parks and gardens to sustainable living is assessed by quantifying the horticultural consumption of energy, water and materials. The book also discusses how gardens can make a major contribution to a sustainable future through increased food production and a close connection with the local environment.
Off-campus you will be prompted to log in with your Student ID and Password.
The Planting Design Handbook by Nick RobinsonSince the first edition was published in 1992, Nick Robinson's The Planting Design Handbook has been widely used as a definitive text on landscape architecture courses throughout the world. It remains one of the few titles written by a practicing landscape architect and educator who is also a horticulturalist and accomplished plantsman, and which deals with the application of planting design on a large scale in landscape architecture and urban design projects. The Planting Design Handbook is distinctive for its elegant integration of an ecological approach with an understanding of visual and spatial composition. It emphasizes the role of vegetation layers and designed plant communities in complex and diverse plant assemblages for all kinds of sites and uses. This expanded and comprehensively updated third edition still provides a complete examination of principles and practice of design for public, institutional and private landscapes. It takes account of developments in theory and practice, especially in the use of perennials, and reflects a variety of media and approaches current in landscape architecture and design. All chapters have been revised and re-written to ensure updated references and new references have been added. Many new photographs of planting and projects around the world have been included, with examples of current professional drawings to illustrate the design process. It is generously illustrated, including a colour section and the beautifully detailed line drawings of the Chinese architect and painter Jia-Hua Wu.
Publication Date: 2016
Australian Garden Rescue by Mary Horsfall* Handy one-volume guide to many garden difficulties * Practical and simple advice * Includes organic pest control methods and water-saving strategies Whether you have a garden suffering from lack of attention, damaged from weather events or suffering pest attacks, Australian Garden Rescue will guide you through practical solutions, helpful tips and preventative tactics to minimize future harm. Best-selling author Mary Horsfall explores how Australia's harsh climate can impact gardens including the effects of fires, floods, frost, storms and heatwaves. She also addresses various pests from possums, snails and caterpillars to fungal problems and weeds. With an emphasis on environmentally-friendly strategies and simple advice, this highly-illustrated guide will provide tactics for gardeners repairing recent damage or tackling prolonged neglect. Regardless of your garden's size or location, this book should be part of your gardening toolkit.