Soils for Landscape Development by Simon Leake; Elke HaegeSoils for Landscape Development provides a clear, practical and systematic template for specifying landscape soils based on scientific criteria. The soil specifications provide essential information and a universally applicable method for landscape architects and designers, specification writers, landscape contractors and soil supply companies to ensure quality and fit-for-purpose soils. A strong emphasis is placed on reducing environmental impacts by reuse of on-site soil, promoting appropriate minimal soil intervention, and using recycled products. KEY FEATURES: * A ready reference to landscape soils to inform and promote sound reasoning for client understanding and satisfaction. *The Soil Approach Method which promotes consideration of existing site resources and outlines steps to take to minimize costs through soil reuse and to use site soil analysis and edaphic considerations to inform and promote sustainable design. *A Site Soil Characterization and Investigation Specification providing a method by which site-won soils should be characterized and can then be used to form part of the performance specification. *Performance Based Specifications - where a compulsory specification is given outlining the ranges of physical and chemical properties essential for the performance criteria to meet the landscape treatment. *A set of Design Drivers to improve the adaptation of landscape to place and hence success rates and provide optimum landscape performance. *Verification and Quality Assurance Specification- steps and guidelines to enable clear, standard industry accepted processes over the quality of the product, certification requirements, construction process, and correct supply of specified landscape soils.
The Compost Book by Taylor, DavidThis book divulges the secrets of good compost making. It is for those with a backyard and those in the city with a small space who want to make a difference.
Call Number: 631.875 TAY
Publication Date: 2010
Gardening Down-Under by Kevin HandreckThis fully revised edition of Kevin Handreck's classic best-seller contains a wealth of information for practical gardeners. It will enable you to improve the worst of soils, choose the best fertilizer for particular plants and minimize water use. It also contains a comprehensive guide to managing potted plants. Here also are the basics of soil, composting, fertilisers and potting mixes, as well as simple tests and colour guides to nutrient deficiencies. Gardening Down-Under covers much practical information left out by other gardening books. Features * Practical information on soils, potting mixes and fertilisers * How to deal with dead plants, mulch and compost * Information on water usage * Key issues for gardening in pots
Call Number: 635.04891 HAN
Publication Date: 2001
Soils by Michael J. Singer; Donald N. MunnsNow in its fifth edition, Soils: An Introduction provides readers with a fresh approach to the study of soils. Covering all major topics, the text utilizes a unique building the pedon model to provide readers with a single soil concept upon which to build and learn. The goal is to help readers understand the parts that contribute to the whole soil individual and then appreciate how those parts function together. Some of the features of this new edition include: *Enhanced discussion of environmental issues. - Puts learning about soils into an environmental context. *An emphasis on the correct use of scale in all figures. - Helps readers become aware of the vast range involved, from organisms as small as viruses, to the expanse of landscapes. *Focuses on soils as ecosystems, as parts of ecosystems, and as parts of environmental management. - Helps readers to understand how each soil part relates to each other. Singer and Munns Soils: An Introduction, fifth edition is a must-have for anyone interested in learning about soils.
Off-campus you will be prompted to log in with your Student ID and Password.
The Australian Soil Classification by R. F. Isbell; National Committee for Soil and Terrain StaffThe Australian Soil Classificationprovides both a framework for organizing knowledge about Australian soils and a means of communication among scientists and land managers. It is a general-purpose scheme that allocates soils to classes via a key. Classification is a basic requirement of all science and needs to be periodically revised as knowledge increases. This second edition includes updates from a working group of the National Committee on Soils and Terrain (NCST), especially in regards to new knowledge about acid sulfate soils (sulfidic materials). Modifications include expanding the classification to incorporate different kinds of sulfidic materials, the introduction of subaqueous soils as well as new Vertosol subgroups, new Hydrosol family criteria and the consistent use of the term reticulate. All soil orders except for Ferrosols and Sodosols are affected by the changes.
Publication Date: 2016
Celebrating Soil by M. R. Balks; D. ZabowskiThis richly illustrated book celebrates the diversity, importance, and intrinsic beauty of soils around the world and helps the reader to understand the ways that soils are related to the landscapes in which they form. The book unravels the complex bond between humans and soils and the importance of soils in our cultures and everyday lives.Soil is critical to terrestrial life on earth. It underpins human food supply and provides materials on which we build our lives. Soil is out of sight and often out of mind, thus easy to overlook. Yet soil has tremendous variety and intrinsic beauty for those who care to look. Soil contains a memory of the events that have shaped the landscape and the environment. With help you can look at a soil and understand the stories that it has to tell. Written in a reader-friendly way, Celebrating Soil is a wonderful resource for farmers, horticulturalists, naturalists, students and others who are concerned about how soils are formed, work and are used.