Search our eBook catalogue to see our range of eBooks. You will need to log in with your Student ID and Password. You can search for more books by typing whatever you're looking for into the search bar.
Oxford English FileLearn more English here with interactive exercises, useful downloads, games, and weblinks. Practise your grammar, vocabulary, pronunciation, listening, and reading, and have some fun too. Select your edition and level.
Capitals, Commas, Full Stops, Question and Exclamation MarksMany people have problems using punctuation marks correctly. Recent technological developments such as email, text messages and online instant messaging have required many English expressions to be simplified and shortened, prompting many people to question whether we still need punctuation at all. In this program, we explore the reasons for the continuing importance of learning to master punctuation. We provide some straightforward revision of the five most commonly-used punctuation marks: capital letters, full stops, question marks, exclamation marks and commas. Join us for an interesting look at how punctuation rules enable us to make ourselves understood more clearly.
Apostrophes and Quotation MarksSome of the most misused and misunderstood pieces of punctuation are also the smallest. This program provides a practical review of two important punctuation marks - apostrophes and speech marks. We begin with the troublesome apostrophe - its origins, functions and the reasons why it remains a necessary part of the English language. The program provides a detailed look at how to use apostrophes to indicate possession and to spell contractions. We also revise the proper use of quotation (or speech) marks, and examine some common errors in using these tricky punctuation marks in written expression.
Colons, Semicolons, Brackets, Dots and DashesPunctuation is something many people have trouble getting their heads around. This program provides a comprehensive guide to proper punctuation. We examine some common punctuation errors and pitfalls, and explain how to improve our written expression. We'll look in detail at the functions of colons, semicolons, dashes, parentheses and ellipses. These punctuation marks are often avoided in everyday writing, due to confusion about their features and functions. In this program we offer some simple rules to optimise the use of these punctuation marks, and demonstrate that effective punctuation needn't be complicated.
5 Minute EnglishLearning English as a second language (ESL) is not always easy, but it should be fun. 5 Minute English has been designed to give you short and easy explanations and exercises.
You can also find answers to questions that other students have had about confusing things in English. This is under the Question and Answer section. Take your time and come back to 5 Minute English often. You'll be surprised at how much English you can learn with a little dedication
Agenda webLearn English on line : grammar, listening, reading, songs...
English grammar onlineEnglish grammar online : the fun way to learn English - grammar, writing, vocabulary, tests, study tips .....
Learn English feel goodWelcome to LearnEnglishFeelGood.com! Whether you would like to practice your knowledge of English grammar, learn new vocabulary, idioms, or phrasal verbs, or download worksheets/handouts for class, this website will provide you with the resources that you need.
All of the exercises on this site (the English grammar and vocabulary exercises, as well as the media-based exercises) were developed by us based on our own personal approach to teaching ESL. Whether your level is Beginner, Intermediate, or Advanced, you'll find what you need to help you speak and write better English.
Many thingsThis web site is for people studying English as a Second Language (ESL) or English as a Foreign Language (EFL). There are quizzes, word games, word puzzles, proverbs, slang expressions, anagrams, a random-sentence generator and other computer assisted language learning activities. Even though the primary focus is for ESL, native English speakers may also find some interesting things on this site. This site is non-commercial and has no advertising. TESL/TEFL teachers may want to recommend this site to their students.
Sing with me! English grammar, conversation and song. Book 1 by Carmel Davies"Sing with me! book 1 is a collection of fifteen songs and accompanying exercises for students learning English and others who enjoy learning through music. Songs are a starting point for language practice. Each song is followed by five language exercises: vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar, reading and writing, and conversation. The songs also stand alone for class enjoyment and group cohesion. They convey important cultural knowledge and focus on settling into a new environment, language development and daily activities. The lyrics are poetic with simple rhymes and a pinch of humour. They are accompanied by infectious rhythms. The book includes answers and a CD
Call Number: ILC 428.24 DAV
Publication Date: 2013
Sing with me : English grammar, coversation and song. Book 2 by Carmel DaviesSing with me! 2 is a collection of fifteen songs and accompanying exercises for students learning English and others who enjoy learning through music. The songs are a starting point for language practice each song is followed by five language exercises: vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar, reading and writing, and conversation. The songs also stand alone for class enjoyment and group cohesion. They convey important cultural knowledge and focus on topics such as employment, health, love, climate change and daily activities. The lyrics are poetic with simple rhymes and a pinch of humour. They are accompanied by infectious rhythms. The book includes answers and a CD recording of each song."--Back cover of the book.
Call Number: ILC 428.24 DAV
Publication Date: 2013
Sing with me! English grammar, coversation and song. Book 3 by Carmel DaviesSing with me! Book 3 is another exciting addition to the Sing with me! series that is designed for intermediate to advanced English language learners. It provides 15 original songs and a workbook filled with fun, easy to use exercises to engage students in lively discussion and practise vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar, reading and writing
Call Number: ILC 428.24 DAV
Publication Date: 2016
New Inspiration : workbook by Judy Garton-SprengerContinues the best elements of the original course and adds exciting new characteristics perfect for motivating and challenging teenagers. The authentic, varied and content-rich topics have been improved and enhanced; the cultural, cross-curricular nature of the topics features strongly, alongside strong skills development.
Passage to English 3 by Maggie PowerA lower level ESL workbook for class or individual study. Each unit of 15 begins with an entertaining story which also explores a different element of the English language.
Call Number: 428.24 POW
Publication Date: 2016
English language dictionaries on the shelves
Click HERE to search the catalogue for all the English language dictionaries, thesaurus and visual dictionaries in the library.
The Australian Oxford Dictionary by Bruce MooreThis is a major revision of this landmark Australian dictionary that was first published in 1999. The Australian Oxford Dictionary is edited by Australia's most influential lexicographer, Dr. Bruce Moore, Director of the Australian National Dictionary Centre. This flagship dictionary draws on the databases of Australian English at the Australian National Dictionary Centre--including its fast-growing national corpus current usage and its research into Australian English--and those of incomparable Australian Oxford Dictionary. A distinguishing feature of the Australian Oxford Dictionary is its encyclopaedic content. There are more than 10,000 encyclopaedic entries, and these are more detailed than those in any comparable Australian dictionary. For example, the place-name entries not only geographically locate the place in question, but also provide information about the character of the place and its historical, economic, or political importance. There are detailed entries on many topics--political parties, religious organizations, historical events, mythological and fictional characters, and more. In addition, many lexical items which are normally given only very brief treatment in conventional dictionaries are here often given detailed explanatory coverage. Many specific subjects, concepts, movements, and events are presented as self-contained articles following the dictionary entry, be it on black holes, existentialism, computers, Marxism, osmosis, Romanesque, tragedy, or the zodiac. In both lexical and encyclopaedic entries special attention has been paid to Australian words and subjects. The major feature of this new edition, however, is the addition of some 10,000 new lexical items, dramatically increasing the core size of the dictionary. The ultimate guide to contemporary Australian English, this is the most authoritative Australian Dictionary. But it is not just a dictionary for scholars or pedants--it describes our changing language in such a clear and entertaining way, that it is the essential reference for the new millennium.
Oromo-English/ English-Oromo Dictionary & Phrasebook by Mawadza (Compiled by)Oromo is spoken as a first language by more than 25 million Oromo and neighboring peoples in Ethiopia and Kenya. Oromo is the fourth most widely spoken language in Africa. Also known as Afaan Oromo, Oromiffa(a), and sometimes in other languages by variant spellings of these names (Oromic, Afan Oromo), Oromo is an Afro-Asiatic language. This unique, two-part resource provides travelers to Ethiopia with the tools they need for daily interaction. The bilingual dictionary has a concise vocabulary for everyday use, and the phrasebook allows instant communication on a variety of topics. Ideal for businesspeople, travelers, students, and aid workers, this guide includes: 4,000 dictionary entries, with phonetics that are intuitive for English speakers Essential phrases on topics such as transportation, dining out, and business Concise grammar and pronunciation sections.
Publication Date: 2017
Foreign language dictionaries on the shelves
Click HERE to search the catalogue for all foreign language dictionaries in the library.
The English - Tigrigna Dictionary by Abdel RahmanThis is a new and fully updated edition of the Paperback English Tigrigna dictionary, offers over 738 pages of definitions. It covers all the words you need for everyday use in Tigrigna, The words have been carefully selected after consulting a database of newspapers and Tigrigna contemporary literature. The author has also made the definitions clearer than before. This portable and affordable dictionary is perfect for general reference at home, at school, or in the office. Tigrinya, also spelled Tigrigna is an ancient Semitic language spoken by the Tigray-Tigrinya people in central Eritrea. It is one of the main working languages in the country. It is also spoken in the Tigray Region of Ethiopia and among groups of emigrants from these regions worldwide, including some of the Beta Israel now living in Israel. There are nearly five million speakers of Tigrigna today.
Call Number: 492.83321 RAH
Publication Date: 2007
Oxford Picture Dictionary by Jayme Adelson-Goldstein (Editor); Norma Shapiro (Editor)These remarkable new editions of the bestselling bilingual Oxford Picture Dictionary feature over 4,000 words and phrases illustrated with all new vibrant, crystal-clear artwork. The topics, based on extensive input from teachers and students, have been thoroughly updated to meet the needs of today's English language learners. Colour coding and topic icons make finding words easier than ever, and practice activities at the foot of each page ensure accurate and effective use of words.
Call Number: 492.7321 ADE
Publication Date: 2008
Modern Aramaic (Assyrian/Syriac) Dictionary and Phrasebook by Nicholas Awde; Nineb Limassu; Nicholas Al-JelooAramaic is now recognised throughout the world as the language spoken by Christ and the Apostles. Contrary to popular belief, however, it is very much a 'living' language spoken today by the Assyrian peoples in Iran, Iraq, Syria and Turkey. It is also heard in Assyrian emigre communities of the US, Europe and Australia. Modern Aramaic or Assyrian is made up of a number of dialects. The two major ones are Swadaya (Eastern) and Turoyo (Western). This unique dictionary and phrasebook incorporates both dialects in a way that illustrates the differences and gives the reader a complete understanding of both. The dialects are presented in an easy-to-read romanised form that will help the reader to be understood.