Ultimate Job Search by Carolyn Williamson; Lynn WilliamsDo you want to find your ideal job? Do you need to be able to prepare an excellent CV, answer tough interview questions and impress prospective employers? A 'one-stop shop' for all job hunters, this 5th edition of Ultimate Job Search takes the stress out of job hunting and provides advice on every stage of the job hunting process, from preparing a powerful CV that will get you noticed; sample cover letters and emails that come across as genuine; making a great impression at interviews; to dealing with offers and rejections in a positive manner. From the best-selling Ultimate series, the guidance in this book will help you shine and will demonstrate to future employers that you're the person for the job. With an exhaustive breadth of detail and real-life up-to-date comments from employers and recruitment professionals, Ultimate Job Search is invaluable to anyone looking to get their dream job at any stage of their career. About the series: The Ultimate series contains practical advice on essential job search skills to give you the best chance of getting the job you want. Taking you all the way from starting your job search to completing an interview, it includes guidance on CV or résumé and cover letter writing, practice questions for passing aptitude, psychometric and other employment tests, and reliable advice for interviewing.
Call Number: 650.142 GRE
Publication Date: 2018
What Color Is Your Parachute? 2019 by Richard N. BollesIn today's challenging job-market, the time-tested advice of What Color Is Your Parachute?is needed more than ever. Recent grads facing a tough economic landscape, workers laid off mid-career, and people searching for an inspiring work-life change all look to career guru Richard N. Bolles for support, encouragement, and advice on which job-hunt strategies work--and which don't. This revised edition combines classic elements like the famed Flower Exercise with updated tips on social media and search tactics. Bolles demystifies the entire job-search process, from writing resumes to interviewing to networking, expertly guiding job-hunters toward their dream job.
The Everything Job Interview Book by Lin Grensing-PophalA job interview can be both terrifying and exciting; interviewees are always eager to put their best foot forward and make a great impression. However, many aspects of this fairly typical business procedure have changed in recent times, and job-hopefuls need to change, too! The Everything Job Interview Book, 3rd Edition is the ultimate manual for today's job-hunter, no matter what their work experience includes, with professional advice on: job hunting and networking; how to successfully use social media like Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn; pre-interview prep work and practice questions; what to wear, how to prepare, and when to arrive; answering difficult questions honestly and professionally; and post-interview follow-up procedures and etiquette. With new and updated sections on social media, guidance for re-entering the workforce, and networking tips, The Everything Job Interview Book, 3rd Edition is the only book job-hunters need to ace the big interview and hear, "You're hired".
Call Number: 650.14 GRE
Publication Date: 2011
Off-campus you will be prompted to log in with your Student ID and password.
Successful Job Interviews for Dummies® by Kate Southam; Joyce Lain KennedyA friendly guide to the skills and tools you need to ace your next interview - specifically for Australian and New Zealand job seekers Just landing a job interview in Australia's current economy is a challenge, so you'd better be ready when you do. It's more important than ever that you perform at your best when you get the opportunity for a face-to-face interview. "Successful Job Interviews For Dummies, Australian & New Zealand Edition" includes handy tips and practical advice for acing any interview, whether you're a new graduate looking for your first job or an experienced professional looking for a career change. You'll find unbeatable advice on every aspect of interviewing, from getting prepared to answer tough questions to negotiating a better salary offer. Presents useful, practical guidance on acing interviews, with a particular focus on the Australian and New Zealand job market Covers such topics as overcoming fear of interviews, asking the right questions, tailoring your qualifications for specific positions, interviewing across cultures, and much more Includes ten ways to win rave reviews and ten interview challenges to master It's tough out there today. When you do get your foot in the door, make sure they can't slam it closed on you. "Successful Job Interviews For Dummies" gives you the guidance you need to succeed.
Publication Date: 2014
Successful Job Interviews : Everything you need to win over recruiters by Primento DigitalReady to take your career to the next level? Find out everything you need to know about acing your job interview with this practical guide. Job interviews are an inevitable part of the job search process, but for most of us they are a stressful, nerve-racking experience. The key to a successful interview lies in a good understanding of what employers are looking for and effective preparation. Whatever stage of your career you are at, the advice in this guide will allow you to showcase your skills and win over any interviewer. In 50 minutes you will be able to: • Approach your job interview with confidence • Prepare effectively for the most common interview questions • Speak clearly and persuasively about your skills and experience ABOUT 50MINUTES.COM | COACHING The Coaching series from the 50Minutes collection is aimed at all those who, at any stage in their careers, are looking to acquire personal or professional skills, adapt to new situations or simply re-evaluate their work-life balance. The concise and effective style of our guides enables you to gain an in-depth understanding of a broad range of concepts, combining theory, constructive examples and practical exercises to enhance your learning.
Publication Date: 2017
Job Searching with Social Media for Dummies by WaldmanHarness social media to land your dream job For anyone looking for a first job, exploring a career change, or just setting up for future success, social media sites are proven platforms for facilitating connections, demonstrating passions and interests, and ultimately landing the job. "Job Searching with Social Media For Dummies" enables you to harness the power of the Internet to research and identify job opportunities, and then create a strategy for securing a position. "Job Searching with Social Media For Dummies" features in-depth coverage of topics such as: creating effective online profiles and resumes to sell your strengths; maintaining your online reputation and understanding electronic etiquette; using the power of personal branding and building your brand online; avoiding common pitfalls, such as jumping into filling out a social media profile without a strategy; getting to know Twitter, the only real-time job board with literally thousands of jobs posted daily; using social media sites to uncover opportunities in the "hidden job market" ahead of the competition; and much more. Takes the mystery out of Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn Offers advice on how to brand yourself online Includes coverage of the latest changes to social platforms and websites If you're a recent graduate, changing careers, or have been away from the job-search scene for a while, turn to the trusted guidance and expert insight of "Job Searching with Social Media For Dummies."
Publication Date: 2013
101 Smart Questions to Ask on Your Interview by Ron FryTo ace a job interview, you need to give the right answers--and ask the right questions. 101 Smart Questions to Ask on Your Interview is for every job candidate who thinks "Do you have any questions for me?" marks the end of an interview. In Ron Fry's view, it marks the beginning of the last, and perhaps most important, interview phase, one that's so important that failing to properly prepare for it can undo all your hard work, including providing great answers to tough questions. It's your moment to shine--to show off the depth and breadth of your research, to remind the interviewer of how perfectly your credentials fit the job description, and to actually ask for the job! Fry shows you how to take charge of the interview process, presenting yourself as the self-managing, versatile, and confident candidate most employers are seeking. He demonstrates how to use the interview process to sell the company on you while obtaining the information necessary to make sure you are sold on them. From what to ask, when to ask it, and the kinds of answers to expect, 101 Smart Questions to Ask on Your Interview gives all candidates, from first-timers to seasoned pros, the practical information and advice they need to ace entire interviews . . . and get their dream jobs.
Publication Date: 2018
Resumes by Laura DeCarloPolish up that old resume--and land your dream job We've all been there: it's time to apply for a job or internship and you have to create or revise your resume. Many questions pop in your head. What do employers want? What skills should I highlight? How do I format this? How do I get noticed? But resume writing doesn't have to be a daunting task. The latest edition of Resumes For Dummies answers all of these questions and more--whether you're a resume rookie, looking for new tips, or want to create that eye-catching winning resume. In this trusted guide, Laura DeCarlo decodes the modern culture of resume writing and offers you insider tips on all the best practices that'll make your skills shine and your resume pop. Let's start writing! Write effective resumes that will stand out in a crowd Understand Applicant Tracking Systems and how to adapt your resume Keep your resume up with the current culture Position a layoff or other career change and challenge with a positive spin Leverage tips and tricks that give your resume visual power In order to put your best foot forward and stand out in a pile of papers, it's important to have an excellent and effective resume--and now you can.