Search 'Drilling' in the library cataloguefor more resources.
Workshop Processes, Practices and Materials by Bruce BlackWorkshop Processes, Practices and Materialsis an ideal introduction to workshop processes, practices and materials for entry-level engineers and workshop technicians. With detailed illustrations throughout and simple, clear language, this is a practical introduction to what can be a very complex subject. It has been significantly updated and revised to include new material on adhesives, protective coatings, plastics and current Health and Safety legislation. It covers all the standard topics, including safe practices, measuring equipment, hand and machine tools, materials and joining methods, making it an indispensable handbook for use both in class and the workshop. Its broad coverage makes it a useful reference book for many different courses worldwide.
Metal Turning on the Lathe by David A. ClarkA practical guide to an essential tool, for aspiring and experienced engineers, modelmakers, and horologists The lathe is an essential tool for all but the most basic of workshops. It enables the engineer to produce turned components to a high degree of accuracy. Often called the "king of machine tools," it is also very versatile and can be used to make a wide range of engineering components. This guide shows you how to make full use of your lathe safely and effectively in your workshop. It explains how to choose a lathe, looking at different sizes and features available, and offers advice on installing and maintaining a lathe, selecting and sharpening tools, and working with chucks. A range of techniques are discussed, from how to hold work in a collet to cutting a screw thread.
Publication Date: 2014
CNC Machining Handbook by Alan OverbyA Practical Guide to CNC Machining Get a thorough explanation of the entire CNC process from start to finish, including the various machines and their uses and the necessary software and tools. CNC Machining Handbook describes the steps involved in building a CNC machine to custom specifications and successfully implementing it in a real-world application. Helpful photos and illustrations are featured throughout. Whether you're a student, hobbyist, or business owner looking to move from a manual manufacturing process to the accuracy and repeatability of what CNC has to offer, you'll benefit from the in-depth information in this comprehensive resource. CNC Machining Handbook covers: Common types of home and shop-based CNC-controlled applications Linear motion guide systems Transmission systems Stepper and servo motors Controller hardware Cartesian coordinate system CAD (computer-aided drafting) and CAM (computer-aided manufacturing) software Overview of G code language Ready-made CNC systems
Call Number: 621.9023 OVE
Publication Date: 2010
Off campus, you will be prompted to enter your Kangan username and password to login.
Materials for Engineers and Technicians by Raymond A. HigginsThis renowned text has provided many thousands of students with an easily accessible introduction to the wide ranging subject area of materials engineering and manufacturing processes for over thirty years. Avoiding the excessive technical jargon and mathematical complexity so often found in textbooks for this subject, and retaining the practical down-to-earth approach for which this book is noted, Materials for Engineers and Technicians is now thoroughly updated and fully in line with current syllabus requirements. Offering a comprehensive guide to materials used by engineers, their applications and selection in a single volume, the fourth edition focuses on applications and selection - reflecting the increased emphasis on this aspect of materials engineering now seen within current vocational and university courses. Materials properties and relevance to particular uses are addressed in detail from the outset, with all subsequent chapters linking back to these essential concepts. Detailed discussion of examples of materials, and additional applications of processes have been incorporated throughout the text, with expanded sections addressing the causes of failure as this relates to material selection. Updated sections in the fourth edition provide a wider ranging discussion of titanium, printed-circuit-board materials and production, silicon chip production, and the applications and forms of modern composite materials. This new edition has been matched closely to the relevant units of the BTEC Higher National Engineering program, as well as catering fully for the requirements of a Level 3 audience. Students of BTEC Nationals will find that the new edition structure covers all the essential topics required for their courses in the early chapters (chapters 1 - 8). Those students following higher level qualifications (HNC / D Engineering, and first year undergraduate Engineering Materials modules within Mechanical, Manufacturing Systems and also Electrical & Electronic Engineering degree courses) will find additional more advanced topics are addressed in the second half of the book. In addition to meeting the requirements of vocational and undergraduate engineering syllabuses, this text will also prove a valuable desktop reference for professional engineers working in product design, who require a quick source of information on materials and manufacturing processes. * Established and renowned text, now completely restructured to match current BTEC National and Higher National syllabus specifications * New edition provides greater emphasis on materials selection, with a new chapter outlining material properties and their relevance to a variety of uses, reflecting current FE and HE course requirements * Avoids excessive technical jargon and mathematical complexity common in textbooks for this subject