Search our eBook catalogue for Teacher Training to see our range of eBooks. You will be prompted to log in with your Student ID and Password.
Philosophical Perspectives on Teacher Education by Ruth Heilbronn (Editor); Lorraine Foreman-Peck (Editor)Philosophical Perspectives on Teacher Education presents a series of well-argued essays about the ethical considerations that should be addressed in teacher training and educational policies and practices. Brings together philosophical essays on an underserved yet urgent aspect of teacher education Explores the kinds of ethical considerations that should enter into discussions of a teacher's professional education Illuminates the knowledge and understanding that teachers need to sustain their careers and long-term sense of well being Represents an important resource to stimulate contemporary debates about what the future of teacher education should be
Publication Date: 2015
Developing Materials for Language Teaching by Brian Tomlinson (Editor)This supplementary ebook contains the 12 chapters from the first edition of Brain Tomlinson's comprehensive Developing Materials for Language Teaching on various aspects of materials development for language teaching that did not, for reasons of space, appear in the second edition.
Publication Date: 2014
Assessing and Improving Your Teaching by Phyllis BlumbergIn order to make appropriate changes to improve your teaching and your students' learning, first you need to know how you're teaching now. Figure it out for yourself and invigorate your teaching on your own terms! This practical evidence-based guide promotes excellence in teaching and improved student learning through self-reflection and self-assessment of one's teaching. Phyllis Blumberg starts by reviewing the current approaches to instructor evaluation and describes their inadequacies. She then presents a new model of assessing teaching that builds upon a broader base of evidence and sources of support. This new model leads to self-assessment rubrics, which are available for download, and the book will guide you in how to use them. The book includes case studies of completed critical reflection rubrics from a variety of disciplines, including the performing and visual arts and the hard sciences, to show how they can be used in different ways and how to explore the richness of the data you'll uncover.
Curriculum Construction by Brady, Laurie"Curriculum Construction, 5e introduces and analyses all aspects of curriculum development, interpretation and implementation. The text develops students? understanding of both the theoretical and practical components of curriculum construction. The theoretical dimension of the text includes coverage of the broad social and political influences on a curriculum; coverage of global contexts, national curriculum initiatives; and a discussion of values in education. The practical section of the text provides teachers, as well as members of the school community, with the knowledge and skills to engage fully in the task of curriculum construction. " -- Publisher website.
Call Number: 375.001 BRA
Publication Date: 2014
Enhancing Adult Motivation to Learn, Fourth Edition by Raymond J. WlodkowskiThe classic interdisciplinary reference on adult education, updated for today's learning environment Enhancing Adult Motivation to Learn provides adult educators with the information and strategies they need to guide non-traditional students toward positive educational outcomes. Providing a clear framework, guidelines for instructional planning, real-world examples, and cutting-edge ideas, this book fills the need for intrinsically motivating instruction targeted specifically toward adults returning to school. This new fourth edition sharpens the focus on community colleges, where most first-generation college students and working adults begin their higher education, and explores the rising use of technology and alternative delivery methods including a new chapter covering online instruction. Since the publication of its first edition, this book has become a classic reference for understanding adult motivation in educational and training settings. As more and more adults re-enter the educational system, instructors and trainers will find extraordinary value in this exploration at the intersection of research and practice. Examine the latest neuroscience and psychological research pertaining to adult motivation and learning Delve into alternative formats including online learning, interactive learning materials, and more Elicit and encourage adult intrinsic motivation using the Motivational Framework for Culturally Responsive Teaching and sixty practical, research-backed strategies Adopt a culturally responsive instructional approach for an inclusive and equitable learning environment. Adult students differ from traditional students in motivation, attitude, experience, and more; this, combined with an increasingly diverse body of students as well electronic delivery methods, makes today's teaching environment a new landscape for instructors to navigate. Enhancing Adult Motivation to Learn provides a clear guide to success for instructors and students alike.
Call Number: 374.001 WLO
Publication Date: 2017
Powerful Techniques for Teaching Adults by Stephen D. BrookfieldPraise for Powerful Techniques for Teaching Adults "Stephen Brookfield has used his gifts for clear thinking and lucid writing to produce this theoretically informed, immensely practical book on how the dynamics of power and adult teaching intersect. It should be required reading for everyone who teaches adults." ?--Ronald M. Cervero, professor and associate dean, College of Education, University of Georgia "In one of his most personal, emotionally candid, and accessible books yet, Stephen Brookfield shares his passionate and indispensable commitment to empowering the learner both inside and outside the formal classroom, offering a trove of exercises, stories, and practical teaching tips to confront the hidden curriculum of power head on. For any teacher, coach, supervisor, or mentor who cares deeply about adult learning, here's a true gem from one of our great contemporary adult educators." --Laurent A. Parks Daloz, senior fellow, The Whidbey Institute "This book is not about increasing your power as a teacher -- it is about the dynamics of power in the adult classroom, challenging power structures, and the techniques teachers can use to empower learners. Brookfield's uses the lens of 'power' to distill, for the practitioner, ?a lifetime's work of scholarly and practical engagement with adult teaching and learning.' --Mark Tennant, emeritus professor, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia "Brookfield writes in a nice easy-to-read autobiographical style. He explains and fully discusses many good techniques for teaching in an effective and humane manner. Everybody who teaches, whether they teach children or adults, will benefit from reading this interesting book and learning from his lifetime of experience as a teacher." --Peter Jarvis, emeritus professor of continuing education, University of Surrey
Call Number: 374 BRO
Publication Date: 2013
Teaching Adults by Alan Rogers; Naomi HorrocksThis bestselling book will help anyone who is engaged in teaching adults. Whether you are working with groups or individuals, in a formal or informal setting, face-to-face or via distance learning channels, it will help you to develop a relationship with your student learners while increasing your understanding of yourself as a teacher. The authors examine different aspects of teaching including: What is meant by adult learning and what are the main characteristics of adult learners? What is the nature of learning and how does theory relate to practice? How do teachers plan learning, set goals and objectives and most importantly how does a teacher know when learning has taken place? Each chapter contains a series of activities to help you relate what you are reading to your own experiences. Key features of the new edition include: New research on unconscious and conscious learning Adult learning in formal and non-formal education programmes Fully updated and extended activities Opportunity for teachers to pause and reflect on their role as teachers This popular book is valuable reading for experienced teachers who wish to reflect on and improve their practice. It is also useful reading for those who are new to teaching and workplace trainers.
Call Number: 374 ROG
Publication Date: 2010
Teaching and Training in Lifelong Learning by Andy Armitage;"Like good teacher education itself, this book is a carefully crafted mix of theory and practice. It is vital for all those entering this complex sector to understand its history, some of the key philosophies and concepts that have driven research, policy and practice in this area and to be introduced to the ideas of a range of current and past thinkers. At the same time, trainee teachers need to feel they are being given the tools to approach the classroom with confidence. This book provides both. One of its major strengths is the regular opportunities it offers the reader to pause and reflect - surely one of the most important activities for teachers at whatever stage of their career. 'Teaching and Training in Lifelong Learning' has been brought fully up to date and will provide an invaluable resource for those wanting to work in the lifelong learning sector." Professor Ann Hodgson, Co-Director, Centre for Post-14 Research and Innovation, Institute of Education, University of London "In the fourth edition of this respected text Armitage et al have once again provided the sector with a resource which combines academic analysis, theoretical critique and sound practical advice on matters to do with education and teaching. Completely up to date with the rapidly changing components of education, the book contains chapters advising on the use of new technologies and on the design of learning resources. Elements of sound practical advice are successfully combined with an extensive critique of the new market economies impacting on the structural organisation of the education system today. The resultant book is both useful and thought provoking." Dr Liz Keeley-Browne, Oxford Brookes University The fourth edition of this bestselling book examines the breadth of lifelong learning from Adult and Further Education through to training in private and public industry and commerce. Revised and updated throughout to include recent initiatives and developments in the field, it is the definitive textbook on learning, teaching, resources, course planning and assessment in all areas of post-compulsory education and training. The authors examine key areas in lifelong learning through topical discussion, practical exercises, theory, reading, analysis, information, and examples of student work. Popular features of the previous edition such as the chronology of post-compulsory education have been retained and fully updated. New features include: Coverage of the new framework for teacher training, including the new Lifelong Learning UK professional standards, CPD provision, mentoring and subject coaching A re-evaluation of 14-19 developments including the creation of an English Baccalaureate (EBac) Developments in information and learning technology, particularly electronic teaching and learning resources Added coverage of personalization An expanded section on planning for equality and diversity Further information on embedding of language and literacy This text is essential reading for teachers and students training to teach in post-compulsory education.
Fill out the form below to request any item from the Broadmeadows, Richmond or Docklands libraries. Items will be sent to the requested campus for collection. Loan periods are 14 days. However, items can be renewed.