Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Copyright Portal: Home

Provides for BKI staff education and explanation of the BKI copyright process. Includes a link to the BKI Copyright Permissions Database and copyright training materials.

VTA Copyright monitoring (audit) - July to September 2021

All Victorian stand-alone TAFEs are signatories to a copyright agreement that the Victorian TAFE Association has negotiated with the collecting society, Copyright Agency Ltd (known as CAL).

A term in the agreement states that each TAFE will undergo monitoring (auditing) of their delivery course material, during a catchment period, every three years.

This is to determine whether there are any copyright breaches and if so, what percentage are non-compliant/payable infringements.

BKI has the Statutory Text and Artistic Works Licence which is administered by the Copyright Agency Limited (CAL) that enables a ‘reasonable portion’ of works (print and electronic) to be copied or communicated for educational purposes without having to gain permission from the copyright owner.

BKI will have their following resources monitored between July and September 2021.

  • Current delivery courses in MyLearning
  • Requests for copying of teaching resources sent to BKI’s offsite printing provider, Compass (Fuji Xerox)

The Copyright Librarian is currently progressively contacting all teaching departments offering to present and to provide information on getting prepared for the upcoming monitoring period. 

Section 113P Notice to be included on print and electronic resources (replaces Part V5)

PLEASE NOTE: BKI does NOT have a Statutory Broadcast Licence.

The majority of TAFE institutes are no longer covered by the Statutory Broadcast Licence. (Only a handful of WA and NSW TAFE Institutes have the Statutory Broadcast Licence)

BKI Copyright Process - third party content

Copyright Permissions Database

Search the Copyright Permissions Database for existing resources that BKI has permission to use.

Please check the Terms of Use for the resource you want to use.

Complete 'Adding permission to the Copyright Permissions Database form' to have your permission uploaded to the database.

Template for permission

You can use this template when requesting permission alternatively an email simply requesting permission from the copyright owner will suffice.

Important provisions introduced in the Copyright Amendment Act 2017

Fair Dealing is one of the exceptions to copyright infringement. The Copyright Act provides that copying more than a reasonable portion of a work for the purposes of research or study, criticism or review, news reporting or parody and satire will be fair dealing.

*Please read the following links carefully around permission for use*

Copyright symbol

Unknown author / Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

BKI Copyright Compliance Guidelines

Read the guidelines to understand your obligations under Copyright Law and the process to be followed when using copyright materials at BKI.

There is a Copyright tab on the library's website for students to access information regarding their responsibilities.

Fact sheets for teachers - includes attribution information

Intellectual Property

Images for Educational Use - including Shutterstock licence

Click the link below for suggested websites for finding images for educational use.
Always check the terms and conditions of each site for copyright and attribution requirements.

Sound & Music for Educational Use

Click the links below for suggested websites for finding sound and music for educational use.
Always check the terms and conditions of each site for copyright and attribution requirements.

Ask us a question

If you have an enquiry about copyright, please complete this form and a Copyright Librarian will assist you:)

Copyright feedback form

If you have feedback about how we can improve the Copyright Portal, our tools and our processes, please fill out this form.