Search our catalogue for Health to see our broad range of books.
Anatomy and Physiology by Janet Rader; Jill French Top to toe knowledge! In addition to covering the core concepts of anatomy and physiology, this handy reference offers a detailed coverage of body systems, nutrition, fluids and electrolytes, reproduction and lactation, and genetics, chapter by chapter. Give yourself a leg up! Helpful logos make learning easy and enjoyable: Zoom in gives you a close look at anatomic structures Body shop explains how body systems and structures work together Now I get it! converts complex physiology into easy-to-assimilate explanations As time goes by pinpoints the effects of aging on important aspects of anatomy and physiology Memory jogger reinforces learning through easy-to-remember anecdotes and mnemonics Adapted from the popular Made Incredibly Easy! series this text includes relevant language, references, legislation and measurements for the Australian New Zealand marketplace.
Call Number: 612 ANA
Publication Date: 2013
Australian Social Policy and the Human Services by Ed Carson; Lorraine KerrSocial Policy and Human Service Practitioners contends that human service practitioners benefit from understanding the relationship between social policy, the human services and their own practices. In this comprehensive introduction to the subject, readers are encouraged to develop their policy literacy, or critical understanding of the development, implementation and evaluation of social policies. Part 1 explores the debates and organising principles of social policy and the human services. Part 2 focuses on the development and delivery of social policy, including its history, and a discussion of the Third Sector in Australia. Part 3 covers specific areas of social policy: income maintenance, employment, housing, health care, family and child care, and Indigenous social policy. Emerging issues, such as globalisation and sustainability, are examined in Part 4. Each chapter features discussion points, exercises, case studies, further reading lists and and links with the Australian Association of Social Workers Practice Standards (2013).
Call Number: 361.610994 CAR
Publication Date: 2014
Community Health and Wellness by Anne McMurray; Jill ClendonPerfect for: . Bachelor of Nursing Students . Postgraduate Child and Adolescent Health Students . Postgraduate community-based Nursing . Bachelor of Midwifery Students . Bachelor of Public Health Students Community Health & Wellness: Primary health care in practice, 5th Edition represents contemporary thinking and research in community health and wellness from Australia, New Zealand and the global community. It challenges students and health professionals to become more aware of the primary health care (PHC) environments in which they work in order to gain an understanding of what is socially determining the health of the individuals, families and communities within their care. . Provides a focus on primary health care practice in Australia and New Zealand . Research and evidence-based practice throughout each chapter . Group exercises that can be used in practice or tutorial groups . Reflective questions to challenge the understanding of key principles and practice . Additional resources for lecturers via Evolve. . Two new chapters: Chapter 3 Assessing the Community Chapter 6 Working in groups . The SDH Assessment Circle - a new model for community assessment . Stronger emphasis on working with migrant and refugee families . A new continuous case study - the Mason and Smith families; both fly-in fly-out (FIFO) families.
Call Number: 362.120994 MCM
Publication Date: 2014
Food safety by Jusin HealeyFood safety is the concept that food will not cause harm to the consumer when prepared and/or eaten according to its intended use. In Australia we rely on food safety standards to protect us from foodborne illness and food poisoning caused by poor handling, contamination, storage and temperature issues. Who is responsible for food safety in Australia? What can we do ourselves as cooks and consumers to minimise exposure to food poisoning? This book is a comprehensive guide featuring food safety tips on handling, hygiene and contamination. The book also explains symptoms, causes and labelling information in relation to food allergies, additives and intolerances. You are what you eat - ensure you eat food in the knowledge it is safe.
Call Number: 363.1926 FOO
Publication Date: 2016
Health services assistant : supporting nursing in acute care by Kathryn Austin'Increasing demand and an ageing population continue to shape the changing context for the health workforce in Australia. This has resulted in the need for the Health Services Assistant who can provide a high standard of personal and clinical care for patients as well as retaining highly skilled and experienced Enrolled and Registered Nurses for more complex needs. This wide skill mix will result in high-quality care for every patient and efficient use of health care services
Social work and human services best practice by Kathy EllemSocial work and human service practitioners seek to address inequity and injustice and promote social change in many different practice contexts. Social Work and Human Services Best Practice, now in its second edition, offers ideas on best practice in the context of a wide range of specialised practice areas. These include work in child protection, youth justice, mental health, healthcare, hospice and palliative care, rural and remote practice and environmental social work. The authors also bring their relevant knowledge from diverse fields and explore work with First Nation people, migrants and refugees, people with a disability, older people, and lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people. This book will appeal to both beginning and experienced practitioners, drawing upon the historical background of social issues and presenting ideas for appropriate practice responses within the contemporary service environment."--Publishers website.
Call Number: 361.0994 SOC
Publication Date: 2017
Off campus, you will be prompted to enter your student ID and password.
Case Management in Health CareFeaturing expert interviews and real-world examples, this is a high-quality resource exploring the key skills of good case management and the importance of collaboration.
Duration: 15mins. Year: 2012.
Health, Protection and Informed Decision MakingThis program is all about knowing more about sexual activity to help us make better informed decisions. It explores the emotional issues involved in commencing a sexual relationship, at ways sexual attraction is expressed, at preventing Sexually transmitted Infections, at various forms of contraception and also at some of the myths about sex that can confuse us.
Duration: 31mins. Year: 2003.
Palliative Care Nursing: Caring for YourselfThis program provides an introduction to to palliative care stress management. We define stress, and discuss the differences between personal and work-related stress, and discuss the signs of stress-related burnout.
Duration: 18mins. Year: 2010.
Patient Care: Plans and PathwaysThis program explains these tools and provides insight into their implementation and evaluation. Additionally, the program presents some of the innovative technological developments and initiatives that are seeing advancements in patient care management.
Duration: 19mins. Year: 2010.
Recognising Mental Illness in PatientsThis incisive and accessible program introduces schizophrenia and mood disorders, including depression and mania/hypomania, providing nurses with diagnostic criteria and a detailed understanding of how a patient may present when suffering from a mental illness.
Duration: 18mins. Year: 2010.
Strategies to Promote the Health of IndividualsThis program provides a detailed overview of health promotion in today's society. The Ottawa Charter Framework for health promotion is explored as a contributing factor to improved health outcomes for various groups in Australia.
Duration: 25mins. Year: 2010.
Stroke Victim RehabilitationNurses are integral to the multidisciplinary team responsible for a stroke survivor's rehabilitation program. This comprehensive video-based resource provides nurses with a full overview of their role in post-stroke rehabilitation.
Duration: 22mins. Year: 2011.
Variations in Health StatusIn this program we examine the significant impact of income, region, occupation, race and gender on health, the ways in which this manifests itself and the implications for health both now and in the future.
Duration: 28mins. Year: 2002.
Health and Safety at Work for Dummies by RRCAre you complying with health and safety regulations in the workplace? Making mistakes in many areas of health and safety can be both incredibly dangerous and hugely costly. So what can you do to avoid hazards and expensive, time-consuming legal battles? That's where Health & Safety at Work For Dummies comes in. Cutting through the clutter, it provides you with the practical, must-know information you need to ensure your workplace is a suitably safe environment that complies with government health and safety rules and regulations. Did you know that in 2014, 1.2 million working people suffered from work-related illnesses, 2,535 mesothelioma deaths occurred due to past asbestos exposure and 133 workers were killed on the job? The list goes on - and the statistics are staggering. Health & Safety at Work For Dummies shows you how to keep your employees safe from becoming another statistic in this frightening data. Arming you with critical information needed to adhere to health and safety regulations, it offers expert guidance on managing and implementing health and safety in your business, controlling workplace risks, going the extra mile in following orders and much more. Offers an easy-to-follow overview for getting started with health and safety Provides tips and advice for planning your health and safety management Includes guidance on monitoring and reviewing your health and safety systems Clearly demonstrates how to organize and motivate your workforce to comply with rules and regulations You can't afford to run a business that doesn't provide a safe work environment. Be smart, safe and proactive with the help of this essential guide.